Jordan A to Z: E is for …. Enchiladas!

Enchiladas?!?  In Jordan?!?

Unfortunately … no.

This post is not meant to highlight one of the cool and unique aspects of life in Jordan.  No, rather it is a post meant to beg and plead with some wealthy business minded patron to please, please, PLEASE bring an honest-to-goodness reasonably priced Mexican restaurant to Jordan!  PLEASE!

My first choice, of course, would be El Famous Burrito.  If you have spent any time in the Chicagoland area you know what I’m talking about. Here’s the one I used to frequent.

Next (and perhaps more realistically) would be Baja Fresh.  There is one in the Dubai Mall in (wait for it) … Dubai!  Mr. Middle Eastern Restaurant Developer, Entrepreneur, and Investor … please bring Baja Fresh to Jordan!  We have many large malls that would make an ideal and profitable locale for such a venture.

Of course, a Chipotle or Qdoba would work well too.

Barring either of those, even Taco Bell would be acceptable … although I fear it would not be done right and the fact that it really is the low end of the Mexican eating environment would become all to obvious.

A Cozymels or On the Border would be ok to … even though those are a bit on the pricy side.

I know, I know … some of you Ammanites are protesting right now and pointing out that we have Chili’s on Mecca Street and in City Mall as well as Cinco de Mayo at the InterContinental Hotel. First of all … Chili’s is not what I am really looking for when I say a Mexican restaurant.  Sure their chips and salsa are great and so are the fajitas …. but that’s all their depth when it comes to anything remotely Mexican.  When I just want an honest down to earth shredded beef taco with a little grease oozing out of it, or a crispy fried fish taco with just the right spicing, or monster burrito … Chili’s just doesn’t cut it.

Don’t even get me started on sopes or chiles rellenos or tamales or mole.

As for the Mexican place at the InterCon it is way overpriced and the quality is not near any of the places listed above.  And there’s also the sorry little place in Mecca Mall near Subway.  Every time I get something from there my wife looks at my quizzically because she knows what my reaction will be.  I just hope maybe they’ll get it right one of these times.

Ok … so this post isn’t really about something Jordan has … but something it needs … a great Mexican restaurant (reasonably priced)!  It’s no brainer really.  All the American ex-pats would flock to such a place and the locals would catch on to it.  What’s not for a Jordanian to like about Mexican cuisine?  It has shredded meats, thin pieces of bread, fresh vegetables, hot peppers, beans, rice, corn … it’s truly a match made in heaven.  So c’mon investors and restauranteurs …. bring Mexican to Jordan!

2 Responses

  1. Yeah, Brian. I feel your pain. Moving away from Chicago’s food is not as painful as moving away from its people, but it still hurts.
    I happen to be visiting this Land of Delicious Food this week and made sure to have a Lou Malnati pizza first. And later, off to Al’s Beef, where Natasha had her first Italian Beef and I was delirious with joy. I should note that I have been delirious with joy to see all my friends, too. And wish you were here as well.
    Now, what Mexican-type food have you tried to make at home? Do I need to mail you some tortillas?

    • Mmmm …. Italian Beef! Of course, I was a transplant to the Midwest, so do not feel that loss as keenly – but I think that is going on the list for things to have this summer while we are visiting the states for a little while.

      As for Mexican at home …. that is our primary answer to our loss. We have made our own tortillas which is somewhat time consuming and more difficult than one might think at first (to make them a nice circle that is). But we can get fairly decent flour tortillas in one of the big supermarkets and with those we can make our own Mexican creations at home. Mostly in the taco, fajita, enchilada, quesadilla range. And usually with chicken.

      It’s never quite like getting it out in America though. Ahhhh …. summer … I await your days of delicious food.

      And seeing dear friends … of course!

Leave a Reply

